Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Janice Watkins Award 1989


Patricia Kaisling Heading link

Positon: Administrative Nurse III

Department: Nursing Administration

Patricia Kaisling has made many contributions to the University since she began working here in 1972. She began as a staff nurse and head nurse in orthopedics and surgery, but eventually became an Administrative Nurse III in the Nursing Administration. Some of her contributions include her involvement in the Administrative Nurse Council, Nursing Policy and Procedures Committee, and the Staff Advisory Council.


Pat’s care and concern for her patients, staff, peers and family has always been evident and certainly makes her worthy of this prestigious award.

Mary Sheehan  |  Director of Nursing

Elaine Olszewski Heading link

Position: Records Manager

Department: Personnel Services

Elaine Olszewski has been employed with the University since 1973, where she began as a clerk typist and worked her way toward becoming records manager for the Personnel Services office. Her dedication to the University and her position are evident through all that she does such as easing transitions into retirement, educating employees about benefit programs and more. Her concern and caring nature was often seen, especially when she would attend funerals of deceased employees, ensuring she said kind words to their families. While at UIC, she has earned her bachelor’s degree and has served as a panelist on the advancement of women staff members.

We are all indebted to Elaine for her compassion and caring attitude.

Richard Hanneman  |  Assistant Vice Chancellor for Administration and Director of Personnel Services

Janice Watkins Award 1989 Article

Event Photos Heading link

  1. Andrea Watkins, niece of Janice Watkins representing the Watkins family at luncheon and James Lindquist, vice president of the Staff Advisory Council and this year's luncheon emcee.
  2. Past recipients of the Watkins award. Anna Neary, Office of the President: Bernice Wright. Physical Plant Public Functions; Patrick Hughes, retired; Barbara Munro, UIC Health Sciences Store; Sharon Coleman, Education and Joyce Rozwadowski, Psychology.